Cunning Pigeons!


The beginning of February 2012 has brought winter at last. Yesterday David and I went to Chester Zoo as we had a day off work and it is nice when it’s quiet. We saw the Sumatran Tiger cubs and Pele and Sofia out in their enclosure together (they are the Jaguars).

In the morning while getting ready to go out, I poked my head out of the window and low and behold I saw a friendly sight! The Dunnock was sitting in the cage eating the crunched peanuts I had left out for him πŸ™‚ I was so happy to see him again! πŸ™‚

Today, 2nd February, I have seen the Dunnock again while getting ready for work and he was eating and then singing as he sat at the top of our big tree. I went to work with a smile on my face and a skip in my step πŸ™‚

Later on that afternoon, I witnessed the’ cunning’ Pigeons at work, showing how they have become one of the most successful species in the world! I have a little hanging house or something akin to the top of a bird table. I had bought it for the Dunnock but the Pigeons have found it out! I was watching them with glee as they flew at the house, knocking it so that it swung on the tree branch spilling its seed on the ground below! How intelligent these birds are πŸ™‚

As well as watching the Pigeons figure out my hanging feeder, I also have a window feeder attached to our patio doors and yesterday we were entertained as one Pigeon flew onto its roof and knowing there was food in the tray underneath, was cocking his head to see how to get to the food. Another Pigeon, more intelligent than the first, while flapping it’s wings landed on the tray below the window feeder’s roof and was busily snatching at the food the other bird was figuring out how to get πŸ™‚ It was all very comical and made us laugh out loud πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

