Was it a Long-tailed Tit???


Well, I must say it has been quite a confuddled day today, maybe it was because I wasn’t feeling too well, I don’t know! David was back at work today, so maybe I was missing him? This morning, my Mum was overcome with excitement, she had seen a new species of bird in our backyard. I don’t know, it always seems to be the case that I never see these new birds, and I am the one who can identify them properly. lol 😛

I was told that there were two small Blue Tit type birds in the yard, one was on the fat ball holder eating, while the other was just sitting in the branches of our small tree. My Mum said the most striking thing about this new species was that they were black and white and had awfully long tails! What confused matters more was that she said that the bird had a black line on its chest, but she wasn’t so sure once I started interrogating her. lol

People on the ‘British Garden Birds‘ website said it was a female Great Tit, but they don’t have long tails. I did suggest it may have been a Pied Wagtail but we later saw one of these and Mum said it wasn’t one of them, so back to square one again!

All I can assume was that my Mum had seen a Long-tailed Tit and if it was one of them then I think I will probably explode as they were one of the species I had hoped to have seen this winter and they have evaded me. 😦 I hope they, like the Wren comes and visits the yard soon.

Yesterday my insect house came about 5pm 🙂 Today, with the help of my Mum we put the box up on a wall hoping for some solitary Mason bees or Butterflies.

The yard is coming along nicely and looking more like a nature haven than it has ever been. All I need now are some flowering plants to encourage the Bees and Butterflies to the yard, but will probably purchase them in April when the weather gets a bit warmer.

I am so eager for Spring to arrive, I have yet to see if any of the Tit family are interested in my nest box. I do hope someone chooses it as it would be lovely to document a new family. 🙂

I have noticed that after 3pm the bird activity in my yard becomes less and less. Activity peaks about 1pm. I saw the Robin and Dunnock several times today, eating from the ground feeder. I heard the Dunnock singing at 7.20am this morning. There were again lots of Pigeons and about four Starlings. I think the Pigeons follow the Starlings as they drop lots of fat ball from the feeder. There were a few Blue Tit couples and the Blue Tit bachelor was around in the morning, singing, he still hasn’t found a mate yet.

This morning when I was in the yard with my Mum deciding where the new insect house should go, two brave Blue Tits flew into our big tree, we both stayed extra still and watched as the Blues readily ate from the sunflower hearts. They are so adorable 🙂

3 thoughts on “Was it a Long-tailed Tit???

  1. I love Long-tailed Tits 🙂 I usually only see them in winter, when they travel around in little bands, squeaking and making a short trilling noise to each other constantly. Much more acrobatic than Great Tits they are often upside down and constantly on the move, twitching this way and that. They often group up with other small birds like Blue Tits, Coal Tits and Great Tits, then in the Spring they split up as they find their own patch, a mate and go about the nest building. Lovely little birds, I’ll never forget the first time I found a nest, near Parbold Hill. Made out of moss and spider web they are elastic to grow with the chicks 🙂

  2. Hi there, thanks for the comment!

    I just don’t know if they were Long-tailed Tits, they are the only possibility, as I don’t think Wagtails eat from a feeder and my Mum didn’t think they were Great Tits. She has seen Great Tits before, so I am hoping she can tell the difference. I just wish I had seen them as I could have identified them easy!

    I know they usually form groups with other Tits, but with the mild winter we are having, I have only seen Blue Tits, lots of them in Liverpool! and the occasional Great Tit, though I only really saw them when it was extra cold!

    I do hope these black and white long tailed birds come to the yard again so I can identify them. I was hoping, stupidly that they could have liked my nest box, but that is just a silly dream!

Leave a Reply

