Gloomy Friday…


Last night out of sheer boredom I went looking online for some flowering plants for the back yard, in the hope of encouraging Bees and Butterflies. At the last count I had £200 pounds worth of plants in the online shopping basket 😮 I think I shall buy them a bit at a time. I think the first plants I buy could possibly be a Cotoneaster and Honeysuckle with a few small herbs.

I was thinking how cute the vocalisation of the Blue tits are, after yesterday hearing them lightly calling to each other when they knew I was in the yard. They have a sort of call like a quiet chuckle, possibly it is some kind of signal to each other to show their status. I suppose that if there is danger around then the call would become much more louder!

I was doing some reading  about nest boxes and their placements in a garden, but none of the articles I read said how many metres from food to put them. I have a feeling that mine is too close to the tree that has the seed feeders, it’s at an angle and has a direct flying route but I have a feeling that I won’t get any birds nesting, wherever I will place the box 😦

Regarding bird boxes and cages David and I have been doing some research about the finches. We are quite appalled that bird cages are so expensive, the one that I like is about £50! Though I am not so sure that the website ‘zooplus‘ is any good? I have read reviews that the customer service isn’t up to scratch! In relation to customer service I still haven’t received my cheque for the Gardman ground cage defender as I wrote a letter of complaint about how it stated that it deterred Pigeons but mine alas didn’t! Also my ‘One day’ DVD and book hasn’t been despatched yet,  I am so impatient!

After a disturbed nights sleep, I awoke early for work this morning. At 7.15am I first heard the Dunnock singing his song, he was singing on and off until I left for work at 8.15am. I saw him sitting in the tree opposite, while it poured with rain. There was also a Blackbird sitting not far from him, we don’t see them very often. I saw the Dunnock eating from the ground cage later on in the day, he looks so healthy and has a round body with glossy feathers. The Robin made his appearance as did the regular Blue Tits and of course there was up to six Pigeons following four Starlings.

One thought on “Gloomy Friday…

Leave a Reply

