Plants, plants and more plants!


On Friday David had a half day off work so in the afternoon he picked me up and we went to ‘Lady Green Garden Centre‘ near Formby. We spent about an hour there wandering around the plants and shrubs. I had my RSPB ‘bible’ with me which is all about birds and the steps to make your garden, nature friendly. šŸ™‚

I only wanted to buy some herbs, like Marjoram and Thyme which I got for Ā£1.99 each, but then David noticed the ‘for bees’ symbolĀ on some of the plants. šŸ™‚ And then theĀ spendingĀ spree began!

I bought, an Aubrieta which was priced for Ā£3,99 but looking over the recipt later, it was down for Ā£6.99 šŸ˜¦ I never looked at the till when theĀ cashierĀ was entering theĀ plantsĀ as I was helping David pack and then the card reader was slow and I was worried it would reject my card!!

I also go three plants for Ā£10 which I thought was a good price: I got a Lupin, an Oriental Poppy, and a Foxglove which all look lovely! I do hope they will attract the bees!

Talking about bees, as we were leaving to pay for the plants we noticed that there was a pot plant that was covered in pollinators, it was called aĀ Helleborus (or Christmas Rose) with lovely white petals.

I was toying with the idea to buy a Honeysuckle but I didn’t know what type to get for the birds so I ended up buying the Helleborus as it also had the bee symbol on as well as lots of fat bees on its flowers šŸ˜€

The end total for all of these plans wasĀ nearlyĀ Ā£37! :O I have spent nearly Ā£100 on plants in a few weeks!

When we got back to mine, I helped Mum plant the new plants into the yard, some look really nice šŸ™‚ I can’t wait for them to flower and grow šŸ™‚

My Mum’s Oriental Cherry Tree has started to get blossom on, a sure sign that Spring is on it’s way, and on Monday I saw a bee flying in between theĀ petals

On Saturday a delivery was made from ‘Jersey Plants Direct‘ and I was amazed that it was one of the plants from my online order. It was theĀ Cotoneaster!Ā It was well packed!

Maybe once this plant isĀ establishedĀ a family of Dunnocks may make their nest in the thick branches? šŸ™‚ I am just waiting on the delivery of theĀ Bracteantha, Lavender and a mystery plant! :O I just hope it is butterfly and beeĀ friendlyĀ šŸ™‚

Talking of the Dunnock, I saw the Dunnock couple on Sunday and later on the male flew into our big tree as we were planting theĀ Cotoneaster. A few Blue Tit couples were seen eating sunflower hearts and a lone Starling accompanied by the Pigeons, but there hasn’t been much bird action recently. Ā I hope that the coming warmer months may bring in different seasonal visitors to our garden šŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Plants, plants and more plants!

Leave a Reply

