Two Dunnocks and Two Blue Tits on garden wall :)


With all the upset over the past few days, what with my father being admitted to hospital due to liver problems, I have been in much need of a cheer up!

On Monday my Mum phoned the estate agents about the house next door which has just been put up for sale. It has been an empty student house for a year and I have had my eye on it for a while, especially since there is a big Laurel bush in the yard and I am wondering whether there is a Dunnock nest amongst the branches. If so I am definitely going to spout my mouth about the 1981 ‘Wildlife and Countryside Act‘, especially the section saying, you are not allowed to ‘intentionally take, damage or destroy the nest of any wild bird whilst it is in use or being built’! Maybe that will deter a few buyers? It has taken over a week to get a viewing booked and now David and I have a ‘mortgage in principal’ ready for the viewing. I just hope that the house doesn’t have too much work to be done to it??

Today, Thursday, I saw two Dunnocks and two Blue Tits on our garden wall 🙂

The Dunnocks took turns to eat at the ground feeder as one kept being scared by the other which makes me think they were both males? Then on the garden wall one Dunnock was wing flicking and chasing the other bird. I am confused! On Bird Guides.com they have an article on the Dunnock which says: ‘When two or more males come together to dispute a territory… such interactions involve bouts of wing-flicking and chasing’. Though only one Dunnock was wing flicking which makes me wonder was the other bird a female and was he trying to attract her? I wonder if they do have a courtship dance?

I am now of the mindset that the two Dunnocks I saw first thing were males with one being the alpha, as an hour later I saw two other Dunnocks in the cage feeder both eating happily together. I’ve never seen so many Dunnocks and now the are all over the place 🙂

Leave a Reply

