What a Diverse Week!


I ordered more mealworms for the Tits, though this is the final batch! I cant keep buying worms for them! They arrived on Tuesday, I put them out and ‘bam’! the Great and Blues were on them like a flash!

The news of the week is that we have spotted two rats in our yard!!! We knew we had one, which we all called Boris, but with the revelation this morning of a second rat, means I will have to purchase a humane rat trap and possibly relocation of the poor little rodents!

My Mum ordered a bird table for the new house as a present http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/260754009412?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649 and I also ordered a bracket to hang three different feeders on for the new house. http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/150669664847?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649#ht_1648wt_1199 they have both arrived and look great! David will go into the back yard one day and find that I’ve taken over the yard with bird feeders. lol 😀

Monday evening, David and I went to Asda, Huntscross to buy our first item for the house, we bought a garden patio set for £75!  http://direct.asda.com/Miami-6-Piece-Patio-Set—Black/001669927,default,pd.html The item is a gift from David’s Mum who kindly offered to pay for it! On leaving Asda I saw what I thought were Sand Martins swooping energetically in the air! They are beautiful birds!

http://www.rspb.org.uk/wildlife/birdguide/name/s/sandmartin/index.aspx

With the return of the mealworms the Great and Blue Tit families have both been enjoying them. On Thursday before getting ready for work, I saw the beak of a Great Tit young from the opposite bird house, which makes me excited for them to fledge. I think I am feeding two Blue Tit families as two Blues grab worms and fly over the roof top while I have spotted one lone Blue who flies in the opposite direction. Though at the time of writing the worms only lasted four, yes four days! I still have a Blue Tit couple that visits the yard for worms, but since there is none, they have been eating suet from a coconut. I am worried that their young will die without worms. 😦

While doing some work on the new house on Friday I heard a right riot outside. I was taken aback, the Great Tit young had fledged the nest! There was only one, so I hope that all those mealworms did’t help to produce just one Great Tit! The baby was sitting on a wall chattering loudly and the parent was jumping around it trying to feed it!

We were once again blessed by four Goldfinches visiting the sunflower hearts, they were spotted on the new bracket feeder and though I had put seeds out for them, there was not enough on the bracket so two were sitting patiently for a space before the rains came. 😦

The Pigeons and Magpie have been seen sitting on my new bird table, *sigh* I can’t have nothing for the smaller birds!

I heard the Dunnock very vocally all weekend, but he was only spotted briefly in the back yard on Saturday!

We went to see the Olympic Flame on Friday, we went all the way to Ormskirk as Liverpool would have been too busy! We got front row seats and no one stood in our way!

Leave a Reply

