The Great Tit Young Where Here Again!!


Oh I was so excited this morning after waking up and having my breakfast to the sound of the baby Great Tits calling to be fed! I leapt out of bed, careful to not spill my coffee and watched as the Great Tit parents brought their young back to my feeders. I was so happy as I had not seen or heard of them since Sunday when they woke me up at 5.30am!!!

Out came the camcorder again and I caught footage of one Great Tit chick being fed by its parent. They stayed in the yard for about an hour again. At one stage a Magpie couple was seen chasing the young. I was fearful for the babies, but they all stayed together and the adults saw the Magpies away!

I was late going to get the bus today as I was too focused on the birds!

The Goldfinches visit the yard very frequently now, and yesterday there were four of them!

Going back to work after a quick lunch this Friday a Fedex van pulled up outside the house and a big bag of Haith’s OlymPECK seed was delivered. My competition prize! How quick was that? I only got confirmation I was a winner on Wednesday! 🙂 Just wish this rain would stop so I can dish it out to the visiting birds.

Update at 7pm: The Great Tit family have visited again. The young have been sitting sheltering in the tree opposite while the parents have been flying to and from mine for sunflower hearts and suet. I hope they return tomorrow so I know they have a safe place to shelter from this horrible driving rain and raging wind! June? Summer? It’s left the UK again! 😦

Leave a Reply

