It wasn’t the Best…


…but the 2013 Southport Airshow was entertainment enough for one day. We arrived at Southport around 12 noon and found that there were more people about than usual. Probably because they had cancelled the Sunday display as bad weather was due… though I don’t think the Autumn storm was as bad as the Met Office suggested it would be!

After lunch we headed towards the beach or more truthfully towards the boundary fence. On one side people paid £9 and on the other, it was free! You can guess which side of the fence we were on?? 🙂

The wonderful Red Arrows opened the event with their eye catching display of acrobatics. I simply love them, they make me feel so proud to be British!

Some of the aircraft did nothing for me, like the helicopters. I don’t know why but they leave me feeling cold. We waited for The Blades, another aerobatic display team I like. However the last time I saw them they were blue! This time they crept up on us and were painted red and totally threw me!!

Then the highlight of the show appeared roaring through the air, it was the Eurofighter and though the display was short and sweet, it left you wanting more! The Battle of Britain Memorial Flight then followed and I was glad they were amongst the planes on display.

My favourite plane was last on the flight schedule, the Hawker Hunter, Miss Demeanour! Why do I like it? Because its a fighter jet, but ultimately I love it because of the colours! To me it looks like a supernova! 🙂 

I did enjoy my day at the Southport Airshow, David even got a sunburnt face!! However it was not as enjoyable as previous events, though if you have not been before it is well worth the visit! I wish the Tornadoes had been present, and also would love to see some different aeroplanes, as the lineup is now getting a bit stale for me! Let’s keep fingers crossed that 2014’s airshow is even better!!! 😀

 

Leave a Reply

